Judgement:

The night before last Danika and I went to the store for some Halloween cookie cutters and some candy apple supplies. As we were walking through the store, there were these 2 guys that I thought were probably on drugs so we steered clear of them.

When we got in line to pay, they ended up behind us. I only had a $20 on me and I was 70 cents short. I dug through my purse and could only come up with 35 cents. I’ve never done this before but I needed everything in my cart, so I asked the guys behind me if they had a few quarters. One of them immediately reached into his wallet and dug around and gave them to me. I told him thank you so much, I really appreciated it.

As this was happening, Danika had found a mini etch-a-sketch and after saying thank you, I grabbed the toy and put it back on the shelf without thinking about it and we walked out.

The guy that gave me the quarters caught up to us and I thought, “Oh crap, what did I get myself into?”. Then, without saying a word, he handed me a little pink etch-a-sketch and smiled at me, then jogged back to his friend.

Danika was so excited and asked me to open it right away. I did, and for the past few days I have watched her play with that toy many times, and she has even been falling asleep holding it. She moves the circles randomly and when she’s done, she looks at it with her baby girl eyes and tells me what her imagination sees. She’s shown me a fridge, flags, a teddy bear, and many others. Then she shakes it up and does it again, then asks me what I see, it’s become a fun game for us.

Immediately after the man handed me the toy, I felt guilt. I was so quick to judge him, to assume he was a bad person and that I needed to stay away from him. Don’t get me wrong, I think you should always follow your instincts, but that wasn’t the case here. I didn’t fear for my life, I had just thought, “I don’t want Danika to see these druggies”. A legitimate thought didn’t actually cross my mind, that was just my fleeting projection.

In the days since, I have thought about that guy over and over. Clearly, I am better off financially than he is, yet I asked him for spare change. I was wearing better clothes, I could have afforded that toy, but someone who had a lot less then me, showed me kindness, for no reason. I had thought I was better than him for a moment, but immediately realized he was better then me. I’m sure he needed that money from the toy more than I did, but he put an immeasurable smile on a 5 year olds face.

What would my life be like if I practiced more acts of kindness towards complete strangers rather then be a penny pincher? I doubt this man even knows the impact he has made on me. All of this over a $1 etch-a-sketch. I promised myself that I would pay this forward, I’ll let you know when I do. :)

Comments
10 Responses to “Judgement:”
  1. Becky says:

    wow, that was really inspirational to me… Im going to make it my goal to pay it forward too. Thanks for the great reminder Kesh :)

  2. Sheila Gunderson says:

    You make me cry everytime I read your posts… People will not remember what you said, they won’t remember what you did, but I promise you, they will always remember how you treated them! Her little toy is setting here on my dresser, I’ll be bringing it over with me for her, what a treasured memory. You beautiful daughter, make me PROUD…

  3. Marla Quintana says:

    A great lesson for all of us! Thanks for sharing that! love you………………auntie m

  4. krista rowe says:

    this is a truth that convicts us all. beautifully written. thankyou for your vulnerability in sharing. sounds like an angel to me. kindness knows no bounds. this is a thoughtful lesson. God Bless you & keep you -krista

  5. Melissa says:

    You always have amazing things to say….. I love reading your blogs! Your an amazing little woman kesh and I’m so happy that I get to see more of you!!!!

  6. Amanda K says:

    Nakesha…thank you for sharing this beautiful story. It’s such a “human” response to judge people by their appearance. God revealed himself through that young man, and chose to bless you. What an amazing “teachable” moment for you, your daughter, and all of us that read this.

  7. April says:

    Wowww what a great story!! Your honesty is courageous : )

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] do you all remember this post about a stranger doing something extremely kind and out of the ordinary for my daughter, and […]



Leave a Reply

