A boy is a boy:

One thing about my son that I know for sure, is that he is ALL boy. I wasn’t sure if I would notice a big difference with having a girl and a boy, but already, it is apparent. He has to be hitting things all. the. time. You pick him up, he slaps you, he picks up a toy, he smashes the coffee table with it, he gets near the dog, he hits him in the face. This goes on all the time. He LOVES to play in the toilet water and eat dog food, sometimes even enjoys pooping in the bathtub. Although I’m not a fan of either 3. He also refuses to get clean. Poopy diaper? Yeah right, mom. You aren’t going to get me clean without a fight, some flailing, and hitting will be involved. Messy after eating? I’m saving it for later! Sticky? THAT’S THE WAY I LIKE IT MOM! And as for cuddling? I’m not even sure I know what that means anymore! This boy will NOT hug, or cuddle, or do anything resemble affection. Unless you catch him in rare form.

Today he was in the bathtub and he fell over and of course kicked and squirmed and rolled every which way until I could grab a slippery arm to pull him up. That 3 seconds of water up his nose was enough that when I got him out, he sat and cuddled with me for almost like 4 minutes! That must be a record. I guess he must have realized he likes me even when he doesn’t want to admit it. When he falls down, he wants his mommy.

I told Taylor yesterday that I am not sure I know how to be a good mommy to a little boy. Little girls are easy for me, paint their nails, let them wear a dress, and let them dance to some music and you are the best mom in the world. For boys, I am still unsure of how to encourage him be a boy, but also not to break my stuff. I know I will figure it out someday.

Yesterday was Zeke’s 1st birthday, and it seems like yesterday he was just a tiny newborn. I love this little boy. In the morning when he wakes up, he doesn’t scream and yell, he just hangs out in his crib playing with his stuffed animals until I wake up. He is always content in his crib. This little boy is my baby, I can’t imagine the day where he towers over me and becomes a man. He is the perfect mixture of his daddy and me. He has my eyes and my lips, but his facial structure and hair are all his dad.

Zeke LOVES his daddy. Towards 5 o’clock when we are waiting for Taylor to get home from work, Zeke will start to get very antsy just all around unhappy. Then daddy walks in the door and he is a complete angel. His daddy tickles him and hugs and kisses him and my little boy couldn’t be happier.

Taylor is the most easygoing person I have ever met. Me on the other hand, am a little more “fiery”. My husband is quick to apologize, quick to laugh, and very quick to forgive. I am good at being a brat, being demanding, and all around “crabby”. (Working on it!) Anyways, when I was pregnant with Zeke and the nurse was doing an ultrasound trying to get him to move so we could see if he was a boy or girl, he wouldn’t move. AT ALL. We tried all sorts of things to try to get him to move. I joked that he was either passive like his daddy or stubborn like me. Unfortunately, he is stubborn like nobody’s business. I wonder where he gets that from? ;)

My baby boy has the sweetest laugh, amazing blue eyes, and joyful and rambunctious soul. His hair is SO adorable because it curls in the back, cutest thing ever. He is now a big time walker, of course now he has the bruises to show for it! When he laughs, he laughs hard, when he smiles, he smiles big, when he cries, he makes it loud, and when he throws a fit, it’s a big one. This little “chunk” as we like to call him, is a wonderful gift to our lives and I adore him. He is smart, and strong, and emotional, and I wouldn’t change a thing about him. Sometimes exhausting, but always full of life. He gets his feelings hurt very easily, sometimes if you tell him “no no”, he will cry so hard, as if he got hurt. God forbid you leave his presence, he does NOT like it when people leave. He will cry for upwards of 5 minutes making sure you feel good and guilty before you walk out the door! Then there is his rebellious side. Every once in a while instead of crying when you tell him no, he will look you dead in the eye and touch whatever he knew was off limits. He knows he is challenging me and he is ready to reap the consequences! Or sometimes he will act like he didn’t even do anything wrong. “Who, me? Mom I would never do that!” I see it in his eyes. His dad “lies” the same way. Taylor did you do that thing you were supposed to do today? Then his eyes glaze over  and he gets that “who, me?” look in his eyes. Like father, like son.

Zekie says “dada” sometimes and “no no” all the time, still no “mama” yet. I can’t wait to hear him say I love you. I love kissing his chubby cheeks, and even though he pushes me away while I do it, I’ll never stop! I never knew I could love a stinky little boy so much, but there is something special about having a boy around that keeps you on your toes.

Ezekiel Tate- you are the most beautiful little boy I have ever known. Daddy, sister, and I love you to pieces and we are all so thankful to be blessed to have you in our lives. We can’t wait to see who you become. I promise I will always be your biggest cheerleader and number one fan. I will always kiss your “owies” and I promise to encourage your rugged boy behavior. Sounds like you finally woke up from your nap, I can hear you hitting your bottle on the side of your crib. Sitting in your crib hitting things, that’s my boy! :)

Love Mommy

(First picture courtesy of Amanda K! Thank you so much!)

Comments
6 Responses to “A boy is a boy:”
  1. Jennifer Mendoza says:

    Aww what a sweet little Zekie. I love him and I haven’t spent nearly as much time around him as I would like. I’m so happy for you and your family. <3 Keep up the good work mama. We love you guys.

  2. Robin says:

    This is so beautiful! I always look up and admire you as a fellow mommy. I’m glad we are doing this together! xoxo

  3. Karyn says:

    You have an incredible way with words! Your husband, daughter and son are so lucky to have you to share their lives! You are an absolutely amazing woman, my dear!

  4. Marisha Tyler says:

    Oh my goodness. That is so sweet and the pics are all adorable. You are such a good mama! Love you and your kiddo’s:)

  5. I just read your post out loud to Dad… He had tears streaming down his cheeks too… He said, she is amazing and so gifted, we are blessed to have such a talented baby girl… We adore you honey girl! Keep writing, God has a plan for you and He is reviling your gifts… Zekie is a treasure and we love litttle BroBro…

  6. Echo says:

    I love you posts. Your mom always shares them with me and now I want to make sure I get them all. You inspired me to write a few of my own thoughts and I have started my own blog. Us ladies have to stick together. I was always a good writer in school and I enjoy making people laugh through my stories. It will be interesting to see where we take these things. If nothing else, print them and put them in the baby book for later.. :) You are awesome and thanks for sharing .

Leave a Reply

